gh3 audio kit front

IMPROVING DSLR AUDIO: ONE YEAR LATER

In march 12, 2013, I presented a what could be my salvation to audio in a DSLR system. In that post I talked about a ETSLAN PA912, a cable that transforms Balanced audio signals to Unbalanced. Then I promised to post some tests. I only published a little sample with the Rhode NTG-2 shotgun microphone. Now, a year later and after a lot of projects, I bring you some more examples with diferent mics and situations.

gh3 audio kit front

Rhode NTG-2 mouned on camera.

August morning. Apple trees in between.

 

Sony ECM66B lavalier mic.

Office building. Sofa Interview.

 

 

Sony ECM66B lavalier mic.

Mobile World Center. Barcelona. During a 24h Hackathon (+100 people in the same floor).

 

Sennheiser ew112p-G3 lavalier wireless mic.

Interviews in a school. Comparison with Rhode NTG-2 shotgun on Rhode camera mount.

  • Ch1 Rhode NTG2 unfiltered, direct from camera recording.
  • Ch2 Sennheiser unfiltered, -6db.

 

CONCLUSIONS:

  • I’ve had 0 issues with ETSLAN PA912 Cable, it is great! It is the key of this solution.
  • The sound quality is high, but not perfect. I think it is mostly related to Autogain and electronics in the Lumix Gh3, which is not a high end professional video camera. But it is the best solution I found for this kind of budget.
  • I finally found a system that works for me in Run&Go Documentary projects: Panasonic Lumix Gh3 + Olympus 12-60mm + Etslan PA912 + Rhode NTG-2 Shotgun mic + Sennheiser ew112p-G3 wireless mic.

4in1 audio kit

2 pensaments sobre “IMPROVING DSLR AUDIO: ONE YEAR LATER

Deixa un comentari

